What are CMMI strategies than can move you up levels? Capability Maturity Model Integration, commonly abbreviated as CMMI is one of the process level improvement programs that was released back in 2002. Before CMMI, there was another process level program known as CMM which stands for Capability Maturity Model developed in 1987. CMMI has resulted in more worldwide acceptability than CMM because of the generic nature and easier use.

CMMI Strategies – Categories of Components

There are three categories of components of CMMI levels and they are listed below:

  • Informative Components: These components are helping hands for the model users in order to better understand the required and expected components of CMMI models.
  • Required Components: These components are significant in order to achieve improvement in the process in any stated process area.
  • Expected Components: These components are the ones that best describe the activities that are really important in achieving a desired and required CMMI component. They are mostly used by those who want to get process improvement cycles to get implemented in their organizations.

Types of Representations In CMMI

There are two types of representation in CMMI whose purpose is to execute improvement goals and their achievements.

  • Staged Representation: Staged representation helps to make the set of related processes in a better and improved form by using CMMI maturity levels.
  • Continuous Representation: Continuous representation enables an organization to make their related process better in more of an incremental way corresponding to an individual area of process by making use of capability levels.

Maturity Levels In CMMI

In order to characterize the state of processes of the organization, you utilize the maturity levels of CMMI. The maturity levels in CMMI are based on related specific and generic practices for an already defined process area or set of process areas.

  • Level 01 – Initial: Pretty unpredictable processes with poor control and measures having more of a reactive approach.
  • Level 02 – Managed: Still on a reactive approach with processes being characterized in projects.
  • Level 03 – Defined: Decisions based on proactive approach rather than on reactive approach and organizational processes are also being characterized proactively.
  • Level 04 – Quantitatively Managed: All the organizational processes being characterized are completely measured and controlled.
  • Level 05 – Optimization: organizational direction is more aligned towards the road to process improvement and innovative initiatives.

How to Measure CMMI Maturity Level?

CMMI strategies include correct level measurement. In order to measure Maturity level for an organization, first review the achievement level of the generic as well as specific goals which are being associated with a pre-defined process area or set of areas.

CMMI Strategies to Get Ahead On Maturity Levels

Each of the Maturity level is a lighthouse for your organization to improve the organizational processes in order to move to the next maturity level. CMMI strategies: know your levels and what is required to move up.

Move # 01

The Level 01 organizations are mostly those which exceed budget, cannot abide by established schedules and are unable to sustain success and can abandon their own standards in the time of crises. The success of level 01 organizations depends mostly on the competency of teams rather than on proven standardized procedures. In order to move towards Level 02, the organization should not be only dependent on people but on the concrete and standardized process steps.

Move # 02

If you are a Level 02 organization you have implemented processes that are well-managed and fully controlled but still there is a lot more to do. Level 02 organizations are mostly well managed but usually lack a proactive approach. In order to reach Level 03 Maturity Level a sufficient expertise in proactive approach, descriptions of the processes in detailed formats, proven tools and successful methodologies are required.

Move # 03

At this level all the processes and controls are managed to the best of their capacities but the performance is not controlled by statistical and other quantitative analysis with qualitative analysis.

Move # 04

At a level # 04 organization, you should have successfully established quantitative and qualitative goals. You should have also built a solid tried and tested criteria.

Next is focusing on continuous improvement and innovative initiatives to become a Level 05 organization. In order to jump from level 4 to level 5, change the way of addressing process variations. In a level 05 organization, processes are directed more towards changing the parameters (keeping quality of the final product undisturbed). The idea is to improve products leading to more customer satisfaction and to get an edge among other market competitors existing in the market.

Amendments made in the process must keep statistical predictability and results in mind. Haphazard amendments will result in disturbances in quality of the final product. Risks should be taken on a calculation basis.

Few Loopholes in CMMI

The CMMI model and practical application s often too detailed for the organizations that plans to start from scratch or from zero level. Moreover, CMMI application can sometimes result in financial expenditures.

The clauses in CMMI are not specific to every business so make sensible choices according to the nature of your business and customer needs. Use these CMMI strategies to get ahead faster.

Looking to implement CMMI in your business?

What questions do you have and how can we help?